Message from the CEO and the Chairman

2016 was a year of continued transformation towards higher performance at Bekaert. We achieved good organic volume growth and lifted our profit margins significantly. We are very pleased with these results. We delivered double-digit growth rates in gross and operating profit, ROCE, share price and proposed dividend; and we keep moving forward along our transformation journey towards achieving the true potential of Bekaert.

In doing so, we recognize that our commitment to consistently driving value creation for our stakeholders has to take into account the broader economic, environmental and social impacts of our operations. We therefore consider the interests of customers, suppliers, employees, shareholders, communities and other stakeholders in all aspects of our operations.

We co-operate with customers and suppliers to develop products and processes that contribute to a cleaner environment. We interact with local governments in a transparent and constructive way and we strive to be a loyal and responsible partner in the communities where we are active. 
The worldwide participation of our employees in Bekaert’s global transformation towards higher performance has added to the collective strength of our company. Together, we are shaping a growth and performance culture which is characterized by strong employee enthusiasm, engagement, and empowerment. We encourage the continuous development of our employees and we have started a group-wide safety program because we care about the safety of our employees and of anybody present at our sites.

The results of 2016 are a reflection of what we are capable of and have made us more confident and more ambitious about our future. We want to thank our customers, partners and shareholders for their continued trust. And we want to thank our employees for their commitment, energy and irrepressible drive to always improve our capability, as One Bekaert team.

Matthew Taylor - CEO                                                                       Bert De Graeve - Chairman